agkorea.blogg.se

En blogg där jag dokumenterar mitt år i Sydkorea

MIT

Kategori: Allmänt

Yes my dream is to go to the MIT Media Lab. 
 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=txl4QR0GDnU
 
For about 20 years I have been trying to answer the question "What do you want to be when you grow up?"
I have never had a real dream job or a certain dream for the future. My phylosophy untill now has been "why not?/ try it and see what heppens/ experience/ search / discover." But no goal. Anyway now that I am studying with people that are about to graduate I entered the "what am I gonna do with my future" way of thinking. And many (in korea) see a safe job at Samsung or LG or Hyundai as the best thing that could happen. Others are brave and their dream is to start a company. I have still 2 years left so I am not worried. yet.
 
I can't stop talking about my Entertainment design class. I just love it. Kim Sun Chul showed me a different world that changed my way of thinking, it's hard to tell how and what it is but I think it has to do with technology and human emotions. 2 fields that I never considered much while designing. But designing for the future! researching the newest technologies and connecting it to humans through emotions. During this class I had to imagine the future, even small details and finding out future needs. At the same time as I had to read Calvino and find my own design phylosophy. I have never liked a class so much. I have never dedicated my free time for a home work. And thanks to Eunji and Doha we have been travelling with our thoughts for entire nights. What will humans care about in the future, what are the relations that will never change, wich part of us will remain and wich will be digital? He suggested to take a look at the Media Lab MIT
 
I started to watch Sci-Fi and futuristic movies. (really?) yes, I'm still working on trying to enjoy the lame story lines and hollywood style hours of action. But what is it that makes me love with these movies? The fact that behind every single scene there is a thought. Someone has been thinking as I have been thinking, how will the future look like? How will we live? what are the shapes of the future. and many times I arrived to the same conclusion as them, so I wonder, how did they get there? That would be an amazing job. Designer in the film industry. Using my creativity.
 
I have almost always been thought that everything has to be rational. Rational thinking --> good decision. But I learned today in my human engineering class that most of the times humans don't make rational decisions. So what do we follow? How do we make decisions? No one knows exactley. And when you have to find a new shape, it doesn't really work either. What is inspiration and how can I translate emotions into shapes?
I'm quite fed up by rational thinking and efficency these days. Even though I get angry if my computer is slow. 
 
I could go on for ages writing about this subject. But I have to use my time efficently to have time to be unefficient. 
 
Anyway Media Lab äger och jag vill dit. Det är min dröm.
 


 
 
 
 
 
 
  

Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här: